Research Safety

About Research Safety


The Research Safety Unit provides coordination and support related to regulatory program compliance, loss control, incident management, chemical product evaluation, PPE selection and distribution, regulatory agency support and citation management, and equipment approval for field and laboratory-based research efforts.  Our unit develops and implements comprehensive research safety programs in accordance with Federal, State, and local regulations. 

 

Meet Our Team

Sandra Conrrad Assistant Director, Research Safety sconrrad@uci.edu
Alice Lee IBC Administrator alicecl@uci.edu
Anju Subba Biosafety Officer asubba@uci.edu
Karla Hill Occupational Health Program Manager k.hill@uci.edu
Lorena Andrade Vivarium Safety Officer andradel@uci.edu
Medalyn Supnet Assistant Biosafety Officer/Lab Safety Specialist msupnet@uci.edu
Megan Dumas Chemical Safety Officer mdumas@uci.edu
Monique Skahan Controlled Substances and DOT Program Coordinator mskahan@uci.edu
VACANT Research Safety and Process Safety Specialist
VACANT Research Safety Specialist
VACANT High Containment Lab Director
(For any inquiries, please contact Anju Subba, Biosafety Officer)

 

Our Programs

  • Vivaria Safety Officer and AED campus program

  • Occupational Health preventative medicine and medical monitoring for all areas on campus, including research and non-research groups, medical referral, immunization review, and medical clearance to wear appropriate PPE. Allergy assessment and coordination of medical accommodations with the relevant departments on campus

  • PPE Distribution Program for Research Laboratories

  • Controlled Substances Research Program and DOT Drug and Alcohol Program

 

Our Services

  • Controlled Substances Use Authorization (CSUA)
    We maintain and support all aspects of the UCI Controlled Substances Use Authorization (CSUA) Program to comply with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registrations governing the use of controlled substances for research, veterinary and teaching purpose.  This includes CSUA’s for chemical precursors and the DEA List I chemicals and campus DEA liaison for Schedules II-V registrations.

  • Lab Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
    We support the research community on campus by providing the appropriate PPE, personal fit-testing, and training on appropriate use. We assess needs and track distribution of PPE through an online application, manage laundry services for the entire campus, and offers prescription eye protection.

  • Occupational Health
    We support the health and well-being of all UCI employees and researchers by ensuring that workplaces are safe. We accomplish this by coordinating with other campus locations to ensure employees/ researchers with different medical conditions have the proper work environment or PPE to work safely.

  • Vivarium Safety
    We support IACUC efforts to ensure safety in research involving animals. Specifically, EH&S develops procedures, conducting assessments of research spaces and investigates and responds to safety and injury incidents.
  •